DoD Scientists and Researchers Earn High Honors

DoD Scientists and Researchers Earn High Honors

President Obama Honors Federally-Funded Early-Career Scientists

Office of the Press Secretary
January 9, 2017

Today, President Obama named 102 scientists and researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

"I congratulate these outstanding scientists and engineers on their impactful work," President Obama said. "These innovators are working to help keep the United States on the cutting edge, showing that Federal investments in science lead to advancements that expand our knowledge of the world around us and contribute to our economy."

The Presidential Early Career Awards highlight the key role that the Administration places in encouraging and accelerating American innovation to grow our economy and tackle our greatest challenges. This year's recipients are employed or funded by the following departments and agencies: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of the Interior, Department of Veterans Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, Smithsonian Institution, and the Intelligence Community. These departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America's preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

Department of Defense Winners

Michael Bell, Colorado State University
Nurcin Celik, University of Miami
Kaushik Chowdhury, Northeastern University
Shawn Douglas, University of California, San Francisco
Christopher Dyer, DeepMind and Carnegie Mellon University
Aaron Esser-Kahn, University of California, Irvine
Sinan Keten, Northwestern University
Jonathan Fan, Stanford University
Danna Freedman, Northwestern University
Thomas Harris, Northwestern University
David Hsieh, California Institute of Technology
Osama Nayfeh, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center-Pacific
Olukayode Okusaga, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
Joseph Parker, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Adam Pilchak, Air Force Research Laboratory
Harris Wang, Columbia University